1. Homepage - Important Links


Trooper Michael L. Albert, Class President - 132nd Basic Session


132nd Basic Trooper Academy with 44 TROOPERS GRADUATE

January 15, 2021

The 44 men and women of the Virginia State Police 132nd Basic Session graduated in a virtual ceremony on Friday, January 15, 2021.  Due to COVID-19 protocols, a virtual ceremony was the safest means of allowing the graduates and their families to celebrate the culmination of 27 weeks of the trooper-trainees’ hard work, sacrifice and dedication.  Also in virtual attendance were state police executive staff, academy staff and Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Brian Moran.  A previously-recorded video of Governor Ralph Northam congratulating the new troopers was played during the ceremony.


Colonel Gary T. Settle, Superintendent Captain Robert C. Holland, Training Division

“This Basic Session class has been like no other.  Every one of these steadfast men and women heeded strict attention to detail as they navigated the ever-evolving COVID-19 safety protocols,” said Colonel Gary T. Settle, Virginia State Police Superintendent.  “The attention to detail wasn’t just to ensure a safe environment for the entire class, their families, academy staff and instructors, but also for the greater good, something all Virginia State Troopers understand as they put their lives to the test daily to protect and serve the citizens of the Commonwealth.  I could not be more proud of this graduating class and I know they will represent us well as they serve their communities.”


The new troopers received more than 1,300 hours of classroom and field instruction in more than 100 different subjects, including de-escalation techniques, strategies to assist people in mental health crisis, ethics and leadership, fair and impartial policing, constitutional law, emergency medical trauma care, and public and community relations.  The members of the 132nd Basic Session began their 27 weeks of academic, physical and practical training at the Academy on June 29, 2020.

                                                                    Valor Service Pride

The graduates of the 132nd Basic Session are from every corner of the Commonwealth, as well as Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Kentucky and New York. They include two second-generation troopers, four first-generation Americans and numerous prior military service personnel.

Trooper Adelaide E. Fischer, a 3rd Generation Trooper, receives her Graduation Diploma from her mother - Sergeant Andrea C. Fischer.  Her grandfather is retired Senior Special Agent Herbert Thomas "Buddy" Gordon.

For their final phase of training, each trooper will spend an additional six weeks paired with a Field Training Officer learning his or her new patrol area.


State police is currently hiring for future Basic Session Academy classes. Those interested in joining the ranks of the Virginia State Police are encouraged to visit www.vatrooper.com for more information.




132nd Basic Graduate Assignment

Arfan M. Arif - Fairfax County
Michael L. Albert - Shenandoah County
Zachary T. Barnes - York County
Moses I. R. Blakey - New Kent County
Vontasia T. Britton - York County
Andrew J. Brown - Prince William County
Taylor C. Brown - Prince William County
Jawaan D. Cook - Greensville County
William T. DiBerardine - Warren County
Hunter C. Dickenson - Gloucester County
Julian B. Edwards - Prince William County
Kayla B. Edwards - Surry County
Christian L. Elkins - Prince William County
Arthur P. Falin - Greensville County
Jacob A. Farmer - Prince George County
Adelaide E. Fischer - Hampton / Newport News
Robert L. Flynn - Accomack County
Tony Fuentes - James City County
Austin K. Gallaway - Hampton / Newport News
Zachary M. Homlish - Caroline County
Hunter C. Jensen - New Kent County
Stephanie H. Kapusta - Fairfax County
Sarah A. M. Kendrick - Prince William County
Aaryn J. Kerry - Cumberland County
Steven R. King - Accomack County
Timothy L. LaFountain - Buckingham County
Joshua O. McClure - Frederick County
Alexander W. Meyers - King George County
Thomas J. Mills - York County
Justin R. Mull - Caroline County
Connor R. O’Quinn - Hampton / Newport News
Earl J. Pritchett - Prince George County
Andrew R. S. Sanders - Sussex County
Gabriel A. Santillan - Fairfax County
Austin M. Sloan - King William County
Jeffrey A. Spencer - Fairfax County
Sean M. Stinnett - Clark County
Seth A. Sullivan - Accomack County
Andrew M. Toth - Fairfax County
Joseph J. Trombley - Shenandoah County
Richard C. Warner - Gloucester County
Jacob K. Weitzman - Fairfax County
Isaac D. Wilson - York County
Joseph T. Worley - Greensville County


Congratulations from the VSPA!